Stop TB Partnership

TB vaccine research: New network connects European and African institutions

20 September 2011 - Lelystad, Netherlands - European and African research organisations are gearing up to improve and strengthen collaboration in tuberculosis (TB) vaccine research. Eleven institutions from both continents will create a network where knowledge on clinical trials will be exchanged, joint activities can be explored and coordinated, and where clinical trials capacity will be improved. This month the network has received a budget of around US $1 million.

The network is funded by the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) and will be coordinated by the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Germany and TuBerculosis Vaccine Initiative (TBVI) from the Netherlands.

The programme ‘Collaboration and integration of tuberculosis vaccine trials in Europe and Africa’ (TBTEA) will bring together researchers to strengthen collaboration between the north and the south and to exchange knowledge and know-how. African post-doctorate researchers will be trained in collaboration with European institutions that, in turn, will benefit from the experiences gained in endemic countries. The programme aims to contribute to an improved and sustainable research infrastructure in African countries where TB is a public health threat and prevent overlap and unnecessary duplication of work.

The project joins the following institutions:

  • Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science, Dept Immunology, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Germany
  • TuBerculosis Vaccine Initiative (TBVI), The Netherlands
  • University of Oxford, UK<
  • Statens Serum Institute, Denmark
  • University of Zaragoza, Spain
  • Institut Pasteur de Lille, France
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • The Infectious Diseases Institute (IDI) at Makerere University, Uganda
  • Armauer Hansen Research Institute (AHRI), Ethiopia
  • Espoir Pour La Santé (EPLS), Senegal