The structure of the NDWG involves six Subgroups in charge of carrying out technical projects in specific areas. In line with priorities in diagnostics development and with the objectives defined in the new Global Plan to Stop TB 2011-2015, the New Diagnostics Working Group has been organized in six Subgroups as follows:

  • Point Of Care Diagnosis
    Coordinator: Dr. Ruth McNerney, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
  • Drug Susceptibility Testing
    Coordinator: vacant
  • Diagnostics for Latent TB Infection
    Coordinators: Prof. Keertan Dheda, University of Cape Town, South Africa and Prof. Philip Hill, University of Otago, New Zealand
  • Paediatric TB
    Prof. Anneke Hesseling, Desmond Tutu TB Center, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Evidence Synthesis and Policy
    Dr. Karen Steingart, Editor, Cochrane Infectious Diseases Group, Honorary Research Fellow, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Community, Poverty and Advocacy
    Mayowa Joel, Communication for Development Center, Nigeria

In order to ensure optimal coordination and communication within the working group, Subgroup Coordinators are represented in the Core Group of the New Diagnostics Working Group.

Terms of reference